Thai Peanut Spaghetti Squash

Since my move to San Francisco I have become something of a home body. For me, this is a very drastic change from my life in Toronto where I was always out and about. Hanging out with friends or busy at work or even just having a pint alone while reading a book in a local pub, I mostly used home just for sleeping. Sometimes it feels like a good change to have slowed down a bit and sometimes I miss my, always-on-the-go, lifestyle. No matter if I’m feeling up or down though, trying a new recipe and messing around in the kitchen always seems to bring some adventure back into my days. Between my love for cooking and my goal to be writing everyday I thought I should probably kill two birds with one stone and start up a food blog! I am a bit of an improv type cook and rarely rely on a set recipe, so don’t expect down to the 1/2 teaspoon measurements. I’m more of a, dash-of-this, dash-of-that, kinda gal so I apologize in advance for any lack of detail. Hopefully, though, you might get some new ideas and inspiration to create new and exciting dishes that are all your own! Without further ado… our dinner last night:

img_8380

Spaghetti squash with veg and shrimp in creamy peanut sauce

Recently over dinner, my friend was marveling to me about his first experience with spaghetti squash saying how easy and delicious they are and he ‘inceptioned’ me. The seed of the idea was planted and the next time I was at the market I picked up a nice, sunny yellow one. Yesterday afternoon feeling uninspired I perused the internet to find some ideas about how to use this big-ol winter squash. Eventually I came across this awesome recipe for spaghetti squash with homemade peanut sauce. I followed the peanut sauce recipe pretty much to the letter, though mine was neither vegan, nor ‘refined sugar’ free as I used normal peanut butter and a red curry paste containing fish sauce. Since there is already so much sugar in regular peanut butter I also skipped the coconut sugar. The sauce turned out amazing and I highly recommend following her recipe or mine with the slight edits.

img_8377

Delicious homemade peanut sauce

To cook the spaghetti squash first cut it length wise in half then spoon out the seeds and stringy insides till you reach the harder core, much like a pumpkin. Rub some olive oil all up in there and sprinkle some S&P all over. Flip them upside down on a regular baking pan and cook them in the oven at 350 for about 40 minutes or until you can poke it with a fork with only mild resistance. For this particular recipe I wanted to cook it a little al-dente since I planned to sauté it a bit after oven cooking.

 

img_8378

Saute-in’ up some squash

I sliced up some red pepper, a bit of chopped spinach and made some zucchini noodles. If you haven’t tried zoodles, you are sorely missing out. I am sure that I will be making another recipe with zucchini noodles soon, so hold out for that. To make zoodles you can get many different kinds of tools. I went the cheap and simple route and got a hand held mandolin, like this. There is a high risk of finger slicing (which you will notice if you google image search: cooking mandolin, like I just made the mistake of doing), so use with caution. I mixed up those veggies with the peanut sauce to cook. Right before serving the veggies I also added some bean sprouts into the sauce to add some crunch. Everything is better with beansprouts… always.

img_8373

Fresh veg

img_8379

All about that sauce

 

Once the spaghetti squash was cooked I let it cool for 10 minutes. During this time I chopped up some green onion and a few cloves of garlic. I then scraped out the spaghetti squash with a fork and threw it into a pan to sauté with the garlic and onion. After about three minutes I served out the spaghetti squash on the bottom of two bowls, then poured the veggies in peanut sauce on top of that. I also quickly cooked up a few shrimp that I had briefly marinated in olive oil, garlic powder, cayenne pepper and lime juice. The shrimp went on top with some chopped peanuts. BAM!

Healthy and tasty dinner is served.

Difficulty: 2/5
Mess: 4/5
Cost: 1/5
Time: 3/5
Healthy: 4/5

3 thoughts on “Thai Peanut Spaghetti Squash

Leave a Reply

